Skip to content

NYSERDA and TVA Officials Join 2015 Advisory Board for DNV GL’s Utility of the Future Leadership Forum

NYSERDA’s Janet Joseph and TVA’s Joe Hoagland round out distinguished board alongside Chuck Meyer of Western Energy Institute, Kristine Schmidt of ITC Great Plains and Charlie Smith of UVIG

DNV GL’s Utility of the Future Leadership Forum gains two new advisory board members for 2015, NYSERDA Vice President of Technology and Strategic Planning Janet Joseph and Vice President of Stakeholders Relations for the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) Joe Hoagland. Joseph and Hoagland will join the three board members named in 2014 in guiding development of the June forum on the future of renewable and conventional energy and the provisioning of energy to consumers.

Registration is now open for the Utility of the Future Leadership Forum, a peer-to-peer thought leadership venue for top electric and gas energy leaders, including renewables, held annually in Washington, D.C. The industry is experiencing rapid advancements in renewables integration, policy changes, new customer behavior and emerging technologies, innovative financing trends, and evolving business models—all driving the transformation which is underway today. The Forum provides leading executives from across the energy business with a unique opportunity to accelerate dialogue and produce solutions to the most pressing challenges participants face together during the energy transition.

The Forum will take place June 1-3, 2015 at the Washington Marriott at Metro Center.

“With the addition of perspectives from Joseph and Hoagland, the 2015 board now assembled represents a team with unparalleled insight into the forces of change shaping the energy industry. TVA and NYSERDA initiatives are forging the future of electricity today and their voices will add great value to the Utility of the Future Leadership Forum,” said the forum’s founder and host Hugo van Nispen, Executive Vice President, Energy Advisory, DNV GL (formerly DNV KEMA).

  • Janet Joseph brings insight from the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA), which is playing a leading role in exploring the integration of renewable and distributed energy resources. Joseph helps catalyze partnerships to increase innovation and investment in clean energy and oversees energy research and policy analysis programs to help New York build a clean energy economy, under its strategic energy plan, Reforming the Energy Vision.
  • Joe Hoagland, as TVA’s VP of stakeholder relations, is entrusted with listening to and incorporating the perspectives of the full gamut of energy producers, distributors and consumers served by TVA. In addition he focuses TVA’s R&D efforts to position emerging technologies for TVA and the power distributors to take advantage of the changes occurring in the utility sector.
  • Chuck Meyer, president of the Western Energy Institute since 2008, brings insights informed by WEI’s more than 175 industry service providers and 70 energy company members, including gas pipeline, electric and gas distribution, electric generation, power marketers.
  • Kristine M. Schmidt, ITC Holdings VP and ITC Great Plains president provides exceptional understanding of energy issues including FERC policy implications, transmission infrastructure, and corporate leadership.
  • J. Charles (“Charlie”) Smith, executive director of the Utility Variable-Generation Integration Group (UVIG) has provided prescient leadership in renewable energy integration since the 1989 founding of the group as Utility Wind Integration Group. He offers knowledge informed by over 160 UVIG utility members worldwide.

Registration and Early Bird Special pricing is now available for the Utility of the Future Leadership Forum here. Additional news and agenda details will be available at in coming weeks. Join the conversation about Utility of the Future on Twitter using #UofF2015.

Related links


Utility of the Future Leadership Forum

Read more


Washington Marriott at Metro Center

Read more


Registration and Early Bird Special pricing

Read more