Yachts Services


DNV provides a certification service for hulls, rigs and series constructions to the same high standards as DNV classification. Many flag states require no or only limited certification for private/non-commercial yachts. However regulatory requirements are more complex for yachts of more than 24 metres. DNV ensures that your vessel complies with these regulatory standards.

  • Statutory certification: We serve as a recognized organization (RO) for all major yacht codes.
  • Hull construction certificate: We can test and approve FRP, steel, aluminium and wood, as well as relevant manufacturing procedures.
  • Masts and rigging: DNV was the first to introduce guidelines for approving large sailing rigs on modern yachts. Some insurance companies now demand DNV certification of carbon FRP rigs.
  • Series construction: DNV systematically examines and tests the hull, rigging, machinery, electrical installations and closing appliances of a series prototype before issuing a class certificate.
  • CE certification: Yachts of between 2.5 and 24 metres in length are certified on the basis of the EC Directive 94/25/EC (CE certification).
  • ISAF certification: DNV is a notified body for certification of structural integrity of racing yachts below and above 24 metres of hull length.

Useful links


Get regular Yacht Insights!

Join thousands of industry leaders receiving our latest Yacht Insights


Rules and standards

Access essential documents developed by our experts


Technical and Regulatory News

Stay up to date with technical and regulatory developments


Customer tools

Access our applications and digital services