Regulation for the prevention of air pollution by ships.


International Air Pollution Prevention Certificate (IAPP)
Annex VI entered into force 19 May 2005 with the objective to reduce air pollution from ships.

In general, Annex VI applies to all ships 400 GT and above, and to all fixed and floating drilling rigs and other platforms.

Annex VI contains a set of requirements for survey and issuance of International Air Pollution Prevention Certificate (IAPP) and regulations regarding:

  • Ozone depleting substances from refrigerating plants and fire fighting equipment
  • Nitrogen Oxides (NOx) from diesel engines
  • Sulphur Oxides (SOx) from diesel engines
  • Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from cargo tanks of oil tankers
  • Shipboard Incineration
  • Fuel oil quality

DNV GL has been authorised by numerous flag administrations to issue International Air Pollution Prevention Certificates (IAPP).

Mandatory International Energy Efficiency Certificate (IEEC)
Resolution MEPC.203(62), adopted on 15 July 2011, includes regulations for the energy efficiency for ships in MARPOL Annex VI. The requirements entered into force on 2013-01-01 and are mandatory for specific ships as of this date. The requirements can be divided into two major topics:

  • Operational requirements for new and existing ships (SEEMP)
  • Design requirements applicable mainly for “new ships” (EEDI)

There will be a new certificate: International Energy Efficiency Certificate (IEEC).
The IEEC Certificate will be issued for new build ships upon the initial survey before the ship is put into service and for existing ships of 400 gross tonnage and above. The IEE Certificate will be issued once for each ship in DNVGL class and shall be valid throughout the lifetime of the ship (except: flag change, major conversion or ship going out of service). There are no follow-up surveys or endorsements on the IEEC Certificate. The International Energy Efficiency Certificate is specific to each ship and must be kept available on board for normal inspections and audits.

The EEDI is required only for the following ship types:

  • Bulk carriers
  • Gas carriers
  • Tankers
  • Container ships
  • General cargo ships
  • Refrigerated cargo carriers
  • Combination carriers
  • Passenger ships
  • Vehicle carriers
  • Ro-ro cargo ships
  • Ro-ro passenger ships
  • LNG Carriers
  • Cruise passenger ships

Ships falling under one of the above types but having turbine, diesel-electric or hybrid propulsion are excluded from the requirement to have the attained EEDI calculated. This excemption does not apply to LNG carriers and Cruise passenger ships with non-conventional propulsion. If they fulfil the following criteria:

  • building contract is placed on or after 1 September 2015; or
  • in the absence of a building contract, the keel is laid, or is at a similar stage of construction, on or after 1 March 2016; or
  • the delivery is on or after 1 September 2019.

Related contact information


for DNV classed

for GL classed

Revised MARPOL Annex VI

Technical and operational implications

Enter into force 1 July 2010Guide (.pdf/9MB)

Common contact for IEEC